Blessing Health Professions Library

Books

Online Research Online Journals Library Services Testing Tutorials
Databases-alphabetic directory

Databases-subject directory

A-B | C-D | E-G | H-L | M-N | O-U | W-Z

Academic Search Premier The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
ACP Journal Club The ACP Journal Club Collection consists of two journals ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication with the British Medical Journal Group.
ArticleFirst OCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals
Books@Ovid Books@Ovid offers the complete text of these sources in an interlinked and easily navigated graphical interface, giving quick access to diagnostic, research, and reference information.
Business Source Elite This business database provides full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business journals.  The collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

TOP

Cinahl

 

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Virtually all English-language publications are indexed along with the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.
Cinahl Plus with Full Text CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing in CINAHL. With more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Clinical Evidence Clinical Evidence summarizes the current state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. It is neither a textbook of medicine nor a set of guidelines. It describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs (randomized controlled trials) and observational studies where appropriate, and if there is no good evidence, it says so.
Clinical Pharmacology Clinical Pharmacology provides access up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials CCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care. Cochrane groups and other organizations contribute their specialized registers; and these registers—together with references to clinical trials identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE—form the CCTR database. Contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration follow quality control standards to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types:

-Complete reviews - Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups

-Protocols - Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and ACP Journal Club (which consists of ACP Journal Club from the American College of Physicians-American Society for Internal Medicine [ACP-ASIM] and Evidence Based Medicine from the BMJ Publishing Group).
Dissertations Dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe

TOP

EBM Reviews This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE). 
EBM Reviews Full Text This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the three Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).
ECO An OCLC collection of scholarly journals
Electronic Orange Book Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations.  This database enables searching of the database by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant holder or applicant number.

ERIC via Ebsco

ERIC via FirstSearch

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
FirstConsult FirstConsult delivers up to date, evidence-based guidance on patient evaluation, diagnosis, and management.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
GPO U.S. government publications

TOP

Health Source - Consumer Edition This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source - Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Health Source:  Nursing/Academic Edition This database provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Illinois Catalog OCLC catalog of materials in Illinois libraries
Journals@Ovid Full Text The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. While the Ovid Full Text Collections are subsets of journals combined for local access, Journals@Ovid is an aggregated online database of all Ovid journals, with each journal available by individual subscription.

TOP

MDConsult Includes reference books, journal search, practice guidelines, patient education, and drug information.

MEDLINE via FirstSearch

 

Medline via Ovid

 

Medline via PubMed

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's, including approximately 130,000 population-related journal citations unique to the former POPLINE® database, added to MEDLINE in October of 2002. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Abstracts are included for about 52% of the records.
Medline In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations Ovid MEDLINE® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations (PREM), the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) in-process database for Ovid MEDLINE, provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed with MeSH® heading(s) and added to Ovid MEDLINE. Ovid MEDLINE® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, like Ovid MEDLINE® itself, encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science (as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology).
MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is a freely searchable consumer information site with links to authoritative Web resources, clinical trials, dictionaries, directories, organizations, news sources for more than 600 health topics.

Micromedex

Available only on the Blessing Campus

Search for summaries and detailed monographs for  disease, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and emergency care. Variety of drug information including the PDR.
Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

TOP

Ovid OLDMEDLINE MEDLINE® is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) premier bibliographic database. The citations in this Ovid OLDMEDLINE(R) database are for articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences, originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1951 through 1965.
PapersFirst OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
PerAbs Periodical abstracts from general and academic journals
Proceedings An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings
Professional Development Collection Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
PsycFirst Psychology and related fields in the current and most recent three update years

TOP

WilsonSelectPlus Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business
World Almanac Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs
WorldCat OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide
WorldCat Dissertations A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat
Your Journals@Ovid YourJournals@Ovid is a subset of the larger Journals@Ovid database that is limited to only the journals to which your institution subscribes, for when a user wants to see only the citations to which they have access. It provides all of the basic functionality of Journals@Ovid, including 100% searchability, seamless integration with databases, and the ablity to browse by journal and by subject.

TOP

Blessing Health Professions Library

Quincy, IL

Phone:  (217)228-5520 x6970

Email:  librarian@brcn.edu

12/20/2007